

Street Address: 172 Burger Street,
Pietermaritzburg, 3200
Postal Address: Private Bag X9043,
Pietermaritzburg, 3200

Pietermaritzburg, 3200 Tel: (27)(33) 355 8664 Fax: (27)(33) 355 8632

Email: samantha.lander@kzntransport.gov.za

MEDIA LIAISON AND PUBLIC RELATIONS

MEDIA ADVISORY

TO : ALL MEDIA

DATE : 11 SEPTEMBER 2013

ATTENTION: EDITORS/NEWS EDITORS AND PR WIRES

MEC MCHUNU TO ATTEND A MEMORIAL SERVICE OF 22 FIELDS HILL ACCIDENT VICTIMS

KZN MEC for Transport, Community Safety and Liaison Mr Willies Mchunu, together with the eThekwini Municipality Mayor James Nxumalo, will on Thursday 12
September 2013 attend a memorial service to mourn the 22 people who died in a horrific accident in Pinetown-M13 last week.

The memorial service will take place at KwaNdengezi Sports Ground.

The 22 died after a truck crashed into four taxis and one light vehicle on the M13 intersection (off Richmond ramp)

On Saturday, 12 September 2013, the Department of Transport alongside the Thekwini Municipality will also hold a mass funeral service of some of the victims who perished in this horrible accident.

The funeral will be held at the Mpumalanga Sports Ground in Hammarsdale and will be addressed by the Deputy Minister of Transport Sindi Chikunga and Provincial leadership

prosperity through mobility

Also expected to attend are various political role players, Road Safety stakeholders, Religious Leaders, SANTACO and RAF to mourn with the bereaved families.

The details of **memorial service** are as follows:

DATE: 12 September 2013

VENUE : KwaNdengezi Sports Ground

TIME : 09h00

The details of the **mass funeral** are as follows

DATE: 14 September 2013

VENUE : Mpumalanga Sports Ground (Hammarsdale)

TIME : 09h00

Below are the names of the deceased

- 1. Nompumelelo Mnguni
- 2. Elizabeth Phumelele Mokuatle
- 3. Bonginkosi Zungu
- 4. Simon Dlamini
- 5. Zinhle Cele
- 6. Sindi Mthiyane
- 7. Sibonelo Dlamini
- 8. Clerment Chonco
- 9. Mfano Stanely Mhlongo
- 10. Lethukuthula Vilakazi
- 11. Thulisile Nyandeni
- 12. Ntombifuthi Nompula
- 13. Arnaldo Balate
- 14. K.B. Mabhida
- 15. Mduduzi Nyaba
- 16. Nompumelelo Phindile Ndlovu
- 17. Paulos Maritlane
- 18. S. Hlophe
- 19. N.J. Dlamini
- 20. Sandile Desmus Shozi

- 21. Bonginkosi Khalakahla
- 22. N. Nhlabathi

All media are invited to attend both events

Media contact Kwanele Ncalane 0728031462/0796995755